Thank you and welcome to the Aoyama Omotesando store society home page

Our group includes merchants located around the Omotesando intersection on Aoyama street (route 246), west towards the Meiji Jingu Shrine down Omotesando and to the east Miyuki street and Takagicho street encompassing quite a large area spreading out in all directions from the central area.
Known as an upscale residential area Aoyama, from the 1960's it has become world renowned as a center of the Japanese Fashion while retaining its reputation as a mecca for traditional Japanese artists.
With schools steeped in tradition, such as Aoyama Elementary School, Aoyama Gakuin Daigaku (University) it is also a center for education and provides a great atmosphere for our children as well.
We want people to be glad they visited Aoyama, and experience the high standards of Japanese Culture we try to nurture and promote.
Our store society association would like you to come and experience what we the Omotesando store society has to offer.

Offering the newest and famous Japanese Brands and Fashions, tasteful and discerning Restaurants and Cafes, as well as Event and Exhibitions halls for major venues.
Here is where you can experience Japanese 'Wa', the Japanese sense of Beauty and Tradition.
http://www.omotesandohills.com/index.php

The works of Okamoto Taro are representative of Japanese Art and here you can experience his works hands on.
Feel the sculptures, capture his energy when you hear the ringing of the bell(s) created by Taro. An exciting experience.
http://www.taro-okamoto.or.jp/

The Subway Stations is the gateway to the area,
bringing people from all over. For women, easy access and a layout based on Paris divided into 5 zones offering fashionable shopping and delicious restaurants.

http://www.tokyometro.jp/echika/

The area has been known as Aoyama since the times of Tokugawa Ieyasu. In August of 1590 the area was procured by Aoyama Tadanari for his residence. The land he purchased was said to have been expansive.
Minami (South) Aoyama is the home of many famous historical sites usch as the Meiji Jingu, the associated Omotesando (road to the shrine), and Zenkoji (temple). Even though the tone is modern and is the meeting place of the young, the area is steeped in history and tradition. We feel the interest in Aoyama in the Taisho and Showa periods as well as the current Heisei era Aoyama lends to added enjoyment and discovery of the area.

Zenkoji , an affiliate of the Shinshu Zenkoji, was also a convent for the Jodoshu Sect. The land for the original temple about 25,000sq meters, was granted by Ieyasu in the Yanaka area and the temple was built 1601 but due to a fire in 1703 where the original was destroyed the temple was rebuilt in its current location in Aoyama. Thr rebuilding was on land of width 135 m (75ken) and a depth of about 1800 meter took almost December. Afteranother fire (1862 = Bunkyu 2) destroyed the temple rebuilding began in September of 1916 (taisho 4) and was finished 5 years later in May 1921, which is the current structure. From the size of the temple precincts it is easy to imagine just how large the temple had been in the Edo Period.

Zenkoji 1940

The exhibit : "the photographed Minato Ward"

Ni-Ou-Mon 'Gates guarded by Two Kings'
(moved from Hakone)
The exhibit : "the photographed Minato Ward"

Zenkoji Entrance 1969

The exhibit : "the photographed Minato Ward"

Zenkoji 1983

The exhibit : "the photographed Minato Ward"

In 1824 after Kinokuniya Bunzaemon was interred in Fukukawa, according to his request the Akiba Jinja was moved to the Omotesando entrance way where it currently now stands.

1983 Tokyo trace of the teacher's Training school
The exhibit:
"The new compilation Minato-ku history"

The Tokyo Teacher's Training School (present day Tokyo Gakugei Daigaku) was originally in Kita-Aoyama 5 chome. It was started as a practical training facility for elementary school teachers by the Prefectural goverment, using the old block association building and in November of 1876 was named Tokyo Teacher's Training School. From the next year it was a facility for women students but in 1890 this ended. In 1887 it became a general teachers college. 1889 the schook was moved to Koishikawa-ku Takehaya. In 1900 the school was moved to Kita AOyama and was officially named Tokyo Prefecture Aoyama Teachers Training School as a three year college. In 1936 this was moved to Shimouma, Setagaya ward. The old facility was used as a middle school for a time but this was replaced by residences. Part of the old building is still used as a Ward run nursery school.

The school house was built in Yotsuya Owari Cho on part of the Iperial palace grounds in the spring of 1885 and temporary clsses were started October the same year. Originally there were 133 students and by November the school officially began operations. The school was moved to Kojimachi ward Nagata-cho in Joly 1889 , In April 1906 it was established as the womens affiliate of Gakushuin. In 1912 the main building burnt down and the school borrowed land at the Aoyama Military Drill Grounds (pesent day Chchibu Rugby Stadium. July 1918 a new schoolhouse was built and in September 11 of thatyear oppening ceremonies were held.
Novever 14 classes formally began. The school building was destroyed in an air raid on May 25th 1945 and the school was moved to Mejiro, Tokushima-ku using the land of the old Tokugawa residence.

The exhibit: "Utsusareta minatoku"

At Aoyama Omotesando entrance
(The crowd of worshipers who gathered for Meiji Shrine enshrining festival)

The approach to Meiji Jingu is a straight line from Aoyama street with Aoyama 6-chome on your left. It is about 1 km from Aoyama street. The approach road wa constructed in honor of the Emperor Meiji by the Tokyo Prefectural Government. It is unique in its scale in modern Tokyo in terms of width. The width being 36 meters of which 5.4 meters on each side of the road are elevated side walks, with the remainder enough for 6 lanes of traffic. At its intersection with Aoyama street there is an area about 55 meters for public use and at the end, the entrance to the Meiji Shrine, there is an area 63 meters wide. Branching off trom the main road there are many side streets and along the route there many tall trees lining the route.

May,2002

the present

1959

 

Mey,2002

the present

1959

 

the present

 

 

 

the present

the present

1957

1941

the present

the present

1983

1941